40 Young Leaders Honored

Kyiv, Ukraine – The U.S.-Ukraine Foundation, in cooperation with the Center for Leadership Development, honored 40 young Ukrainian leaders at the 40 Under 40 Ukraine’s Emerging Leaders Symposium and Reception at the Club of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine on April 24, 2013.
The honorees were selected through the 40 Under 40 Ukraine’s Emerging Leaders Initiative, a new program of the Foundation.
The 40 Under 40 Initiative isdesigned to annually identify 40 outstanding Ukrainians under the age of 40 who demonstrate leadership within their profession while making a significant contribution to the development of their community and Ukraine.  Those selected represent a cross section of professions, whether they are in business, the arts, education, science,  sports, etc., and regions of Ukraine.

The first-ever 40 person leadership group was chosen by a selection committee, which included Anatoliy Tolstoukhov, former Minister, Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine;  Ambassador William Miller,  Senior Policy Scholar, Woodrow Wilson Center and Co-Chair, Ukraine 2020 Culture and Education Task Force; Ambassador John O’Keefe, Executive Director of the Open World Leadership Center; and Marta Farion, President, Kyiv-Mohyla Foundation of America and Co-Chair of Ukraine 2020 Culture and Education Task Force.  The committee looked beyond familiar faces to find Ukrainians who were focused on individual social responsibility in their community in order to make Ukraine a better place.

Those selected were officially announced in Washington, DC, at the Ukraine in Washington 2012 International Conference and Gala Concert, held on November 30 and December 1, 2012.   The event is considered by many as the most significant Ukraine-related event held in the U. S.

The 40 Under 40 Emerging Leaders Initiative was featured as part of the Leadership in a Global World Conference which focused on education and leadership development themes.  Participating in these sessions were individuals from the Bush School of Government and Public Service and the Clinton School of Public Service.  Former U.S. diplomats and U.S. governments officials who participated in these sessions and throughout the overall conference  included Ambassadors William Green Miller, Steven Pifer, John Tefft, and Roman Popadiuk,  as well as Andy Card,  former Chief of Staff for President George W. Bush, and General Colin Powell, who as served in President George W. Bush’s Administration as Secretary of State.

40 Under 40 Initiative – Ukraine’s Emerging Leaders 2012-2013

  • Oleg Akimov
  • Tetyana Barantsova
  • Olga Barnett
  • Anna Bespala
  • Nataliya Bugayova
  • Lidia Chernova
  • Iaroslav Dzus
  • Yevhen Hlibovytsky
  • Anna Gorbenko
  • Olena Illiasevych
  • Dmytro Kamensky
  • Oleksander Kapitan
  • Oksana Kononova
  • Maria Kotsova
  • Aleksey Koval
  • George Kurbanov
  • Victor Liakh
  • Taras Lukachuk
  • Tetiana Melnychenko
  • Mykhailo Minakov
  • Vasyl Miroshnichenko
  • Tetiana Nichosova
  • Lesya Orobets
  • Taras Prytula
  • Nataliya Popovych
  • Marta Romanyak
  • Alyona Rashupkina
  • Fedir Shandor
  • Hanna Shelest
  • Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy
  • Yevhen Shpytko
  • Oleksandr Solontay
  • Dmytro Tarabakin
  • Serhiy Tkachuk
  • Ivan Tychyna
  • Maksym Tymoshenko
  • Taras Tymoshenko
  • Oleksii Vasyliuk
  • Ivan Vyshnevskiy
  • Svitlana Zalischuk