Documentary "Crimean Solidarity: The Fight for Freedom in Russian-Occupied Crimea" followed by discussion

Documentary

Join us on March 17, 2021: documentary viewing at 10:30 am EST (16:30 Kyiv) discussion at 11 am EST (17:00 Kyiv)

Organized by the U.S.-Ukraine Foundation

For seven years since the illegal annexation of the Crimean Peninsula by Russia from Ukraine in 2014, Crimea's indigenous people, the Muslim Crimean Tatars, have faced constant pressure and persecution by Russian forces trying to separate and isolate human rights activists. Over 100 Crimean Tatar men that spoke out against the abuse have been falsely labeled as terrorists, detained and imprisoned for up to 20 years. While the political prisoners face brutal conditions and even torture in detention, their women are left to take care of their families entirely on their own, often under severe pressure.

U.S.-Ukraine Foundation cordially invites you to a live film streaming of Crimean Solidarity: The fight for freedom in Russian-occupied Crimea documentary followed by discussion with First Deputy Foreign Minister of Ukraine Emine Dzhaparova, Deputy Chair for the Mejlis of Crimean Tatar People Nariman Dzhelyalov, former political prisoner, activist, journalist Nariman Memedeminov and human rights defender Lutfiye Zudiyeva about Government of Ukraine vision and strategy for the Crimean Platform summit, Ukraine’s Crimean Tatar community fight for the freedom of political prisoners and helping Crimean Tatars unite in support of one another surviving under Russian occupation. Event will be moderated by Dr. Idil P. Izmirli, Professor of Sociology at University of Maryland Global Campus.

The screening will commence on March 17, 2021 at 10:30am EST (16:30 Kyiv time) and be followed by discussion at 11 am EST (17:00 Kyiv time). Simultaneous interpretation between English and Ukrainian will be provided.  Register here.