U.S.-Ukraine FoundationEnglishUkrainian
   Join Our Business e-Newsletter & Update:  
Home | Sitemap | Contact Us

sponsored by Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA) and U.S.-Ukraine  Foundation
with the support of  Ukrainian and Kyiv Mathematical Societies
and  Hon.  Roman Popadiuk – first U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine 

The Shevchenko Scientific Society of America and the U.S.-Ukraine Foundation are sponsoring a  mathematics competition for young mathematicians in Ukraine in 2009.  The winner of the competition will be awarded a prize of 6000 USD and a gold medal. The goal of the competition is to  support  young mathematicians who work  at research institutions in Ukraine, and to stimulate the interest of young people in pure and applied science.  The competition is open to citizens of Ukraine who are employed in educational or research institutions  in Ukraine, are 35 years of age or younger, and who hold the degree of Kandydat, or D.Sc., in mathematical  sciences. 

To participate, applicants should send the following documents by e-mail to the executive secretary of the Awards Committee, professor Volodymyr Nekrashevych,  nekrash@math.tamu.edu, using Adobe PDF or PS format:

A brief description of the results of a project  (3 pages or less, written in Ukrainian language) which is being submitted for the Mathematics Competition.
Curriculum Vitae, including a list of all publications.

List of   publications (no more than three) containing the results  submitted  for the Mathematics Competition, including computer files of these publications.

List of important conference where the above results were presented, and type of  presentation (plenary session, special session, or other).

List of proposed reviewers (no more than three).

The Committee will forward the documents to the reviewers proposed by the applicant and, in addition, to reviewers of its own choosing.  Based on the response received from the reviewers, the Committee will consider three of the top candidates and select the winner by a majority vote.

The deadline for submission of the applications for the 2009  Mathematics Competition is April 1, 2009. The results of the competition will be announced by the end of June 2009.
Information about the Mathematics Competition will appear on the web-pages of the Ukrainian and Kyiv Mathematical Societies, the  U.S.-Ukraine Foundation and  the Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA). Announcements concerning the Mathematics Competition will be published in the Ukrainian Mathematical Journal and other scholarly publications in Ukraine.

Mathematics Award Committee

Chair: Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M University, USA)
Associate Chair: Sergiy Kolyada (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine).
Executive Secretary: Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University, USA)
Chair of Sponsored  Programs of the Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA)
Roman Andrushkiw
(New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA)
Honorary members: Yuri Berezansky (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Yuri I. Manin (Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, Germany; Northwestern University, USA), Vladimir Marchenko (Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of NASU, Ukraine), Leonid Pastur (Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of NASU, Ukraine), Wolodymyr Petryshyn (Rutgers University, USA), Anatoly Samoilenko (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Anatoly Skorokhod (Michigan State University, USA)

From Ukraine: Oleksandr Borisenko (V. Karazin National University of Kharkiv, Ukraine), Yuri Drozd (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Michael Zarichnyi (Ivan Franko National University of L'viv, Ukraine), Volodimir V. Kirichenko (National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv, Ukraine), Sergiy Kolyada (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine; president of the Kyiv Mathematical Society), Leonid Kurdachenko (Dnipropetrovs'k National University, Ukraine),  Yuri S. Samoilenko (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Gennadiy Feldman (Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of NASU, Ukraine)
From other countries: Alexei Borodin (California Institute of Technology, USA), Leonid Vainerman (Universite de Caen, France), Oleksandr Gorodnik (University of Bristol, UK), Efim Zelmanov (University of California, USA), Yuri Kondratiev (Bielefeld University, Germany), Peter Kuchment (Texas A&M University, USA), Nikolai Leonenko (Cardiff University, UK), Victor Pidstrygach (Georg-August-Universitat Goettingen, Germany), Igor Subbotin (National University, USA), Witaly Suszczanski (Silesian University of Technology, Poland),  Edward Tymchatyn  (University of Saskatchewan, Canada), Sergei Trofimchuk (Universidad de Talca, Chile),  Boris Tsygan (Northwestern University, USA)  
From Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA): Roman Andrushkiw (New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA), Yaroslav Vorobets  (Texas A&M University, USA),  Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M University, USA), Anna Nagurney (University of Massachussetts, USA),  Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University, USA), Wolodymyr Petryshyn (Rutgers University, USA),  Roman Samulyak (Stony Brook University, USA)

Congratulations to Oleksij Teplinsky on winning the 2008.



Donate to the U.S.-Ukraine Foundation